Monday, October 19, 2009

kandinsky

yeah im still alive, surprise!

so its been a little bit. we're already on the verge of mid terms, im incredulous. time is really going by too fast. i had no idea its been two weeks since ive been on here. on that note thank god im here for a year.

so this past weekend, we arcadians (hey raz) took a LONG trip, distance-wise, to the north of spain. after 9 hours on a mini bus thing we ended up in san sebastian where it was ten-plus degrees colder than barcelona (LOVED IT, made me miss the brisk air of vermont) and gorgeous. first thing was checking into my honeyroom sweet with raz then going on a tour of the city. holy shit--there is a boardwalk-ish sidewalk street doojabber that we walked along for thirty minutes, it was breathtaking. the coves on the water were lined with mansions. there was a gigantic statue of jesus on one of the ends. there was an island off the water where people can swim to (in the summer) and chill at a bar. raz and i made a pact to come back and hit that up, she's my long distance swimming bud as i've said before. AND the people in san sebastian are like night and day compared to the general demeanor of the barcelonians... for example as i was walking with raz and emma, an older woman approached us and chatted our ear off about san sebastian and asked us if we liked it, how it compares to barcelona, the u.s., canada... just generally interested in making a relationship. she was the cutest and asked us for a kiss (" dame un beso!" ) before we parted ways. people in stores/restaurants/bars were very cordial. it was nice.. unlike the getting yelled at if you dont have change around here.
i think friday night was my favorite. raz and i had people over to our honeymooner.. that was a funny time. i like when a lot of us get together. then we decided to go out on the town and get pinxchas (little dishes... similar to the tapas here but much better.) had some drinks.. hehh...
i dont think im alone when i say i was hungover the next day. it was a godsend to find a water fountain half way to bilbao, flowing fresh water at head-height. i posted up for five minutes. changed my day/saved it. we stopped at a little town on the way, called something like anchovy, that was unbelievably.... picturesque? stepped off the bus and immediately see a port partly enclosed by undulating coves. the town is on a mountain, and we walked down to the water through these perfect streets with perfect cats and perfect colors. when we got to sea level you could walk out the middle of the port, on the water. it was nuts. anyway we looked it was like woah. the town only has 500 people and most are fisherman... rethinking my life path...
then! bilbao. i wish we had more time there. had some quality chill time then went out to eat. had one of the best plates ever (HI MOM..make note) goat cheese, foie and red berries. with a little salad on the side. then a salmon crepe. it was quite delectable. laid pretty low that night given the previous night's festivities and went to two very different bars. i liked the second one, reminded me of.. hmm... something out of beauty and beast. that took me a long time to relate but i think its spot on. gaston was pretty much there getting raised up on a chair.
aaaaand the next day involved delicious pinxchas and going to the guggenheim where i rekindled my love with modern art. we only had an hour though, which was incredibly unfortunate. i want to start painting, though. i really admire how people can express themselves through painting, especially colors, images.. getting what you are feeling into an image would be.. i can't even imagine. im getting all worked up.
so in retrospect the 9 hours straight on the bus coming home was totally worth the trip, hands down.
what i love about traveling, even living here still is how much my senses are on speed. i think that's why art sounds so appealing to me. its a high, kind of. developing my film tomorrow, hopefully it works!

Thursday, October 1, 2009

oh

seriously dont understand this. been thinking about it for a couple weeks now.
its pretty "pedantic" my bad


HOW DID THE US BECOME A WORLD POWER IN NO TIME?

i just look at spain's history and am in awe of what they have been though...

help

we have tools!!

so this is more compulsory than anything else. also its 1:30 on a thursday night, so keep that in mind. in other words im lazy to backspace.
what do i even want to say? the past week/two weeks have been great--i dont remember when i posted last but i think its been a while. sorry. i dont have an excuse. oops.
OH! i do know that i realized the number one cure for a hangover (why am i always mentioning hangovers)--friends. when you have a shitty night, and i mean that in a pleasant way, and you wake up and don't want to do anything, but your friends say come to the beach it will be fun and next thing you know youre walking to the beach at a snails pace with RAZ acting slightly special buying asian food and sitting on a bench people watching (hey kate), then making it to the shore to laugh as we (they...) recall the night, this weight is lifted. suddenly its all fun and menial and life goes on. i love it. SO FIND THESE PEOPLE; ADORE THEIR HUMOR.
pssh enough about that. sobre mi viajando...es por que estoy aqui...
went to Poblet and Tarragona, and my jesus was it beautiful! lets see, tarragona had ancient ruins that were pretty intense. like i thought, how, this is like almost 2000 years old. people walked these streets and watched these chariot races in this here amphitheater. what??
that sounds ignorant slash kind of stupid. but sometimes if you really let yourself think like that, the BASICS about humans living on earth before we fucked it up its pretty neat. maybe that's just me. and poblet had a enchanting monastery. again, people living such different lives, dedicated to something special and close to them, now that's something to admire.
classes are great, im suprisingly pumped about my religion class. i want to find someone/something. any suggestions??
also i think i want to become a curator. hey change in life path.
thats all for now!! im all blogged out.
more to come since ill be all by my lonesome this weekend, just me and my thoughts...and my homework...and my camera... hey that sounds kind of nice.